The I.B. Program and Special Education

Sturgis takes greats pride in making itself, and the I.B. Program, accessible to all students, even students with disabilities. Our dedicated staff has been recognized by the I.B. Program for their ability to overcome challenges and help students with disabilities find success in and out of the classroom. Sturgis achieves this by setting high expectations for all students and motivating students with disabilities to work harder and achieve more while fostering a feeling of inclusivity and community within the whole of the Sturgis community.

Hear From Past Sturgis Special Education Community Members

It makes me feel really good about myself that I succeeded in such a hard program.”

Erin Linehan, 2018 Graduate

The thing about Sturgis that I’ve loved the most is the community.”

Johnny, 2016 Graduate

Everyone should have access to an I.B. education.”

Sam Watson, 2015 Graduate

Hear From Sturgis Faculty

By raising that bar, I think we see students with disabilities wanting to achieve and work harder. They no longer feel different; they’re just alongside all the other kids. I think they probably for the first time in a very long time feel part of something and not individualized.”

Susan Lacombe-Voigt, Special Needs Coordinator, East

I graduated from Sturgis East in 2011 as a different person than when I entered the doors in the “pit” in 2007. Thanks to the “I.B. for All” approach at Sturgis, I had the opportunity to be challenged in my academic studies and pushed outside of my comfort zone as a student despite the learning challenges I faced every day. Now, as a faculty member at the East campus, I see how much work, attention, and detail goes into creating this inclusive environment we have here, and how much the faculty embrace the idea that all students can learn, we just need to meet the needs of each student. Here at Sturgis we recognize that student success is a complex idea and to measure the success for all students we must be flexible and creative. Our I.B. for All approach is an approach that does not limit or discourage students from the academic challenges they would like to take on despite some of their own personal learning challenges, instead, it empowers them and motivates them to see what is possible and help each students find out what they are capable of.”

Kayley Mead, Spanish Teacher, East

As a Study Skills teacher at Sturgis, the mission statement of “I.B. for all” has hit especially close to home. For many students, the label of Special Education carries a negative connotation, yet Sturgis works exceptionally hard to remove this label. As the largest department at the school, we make a concerted effort to not let anyone fall through the cracks. Special Education teachers and the Special Education Inclusion staff have individual relationships with the students and show a commitment to learning unmatched by any school I have been associated with. The Sturgis teachers and staff show up ready and willing every morning, and this is reflected in the student body in their willingness to take risks and work their hardest. The combination of a great team, appropriate support structures, and willing students makes the Special Education department so successful, but also a great place to work.”

Eric Porteus, Special Education Teacher, East

Resources

Is Sturgis required to follow the same special education laws and regulations that my son/daughter’s sending school does?

Yes, Sturgis has the same licensure requirements as other public schools.

What kind of educational services are available at Sturgis?  

The services offered at Sturgis are similar to those offered by typical district public schools. They include but are not limited to: special education teachers and assistants; speech and language therapist; social skills instructor; reading teacher; college, academic, and personal counseling; and a full-time school nurse.

What is the success rate of students who have disabilities?

Virtually all students with disabilities graduate from Sturgis and then become quite successful at college or university due to the outstanding preparation that they received while at Sturgis.

Does Sturgis have an active Parent Advisory Council (PAC) for parents of students with disabilities?

Yes, Sturgis Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC) meets on a quarterly basis and has a web page for SEPAC news and meeting information: SEPAC

Special Education Coordinator  (East, West)
Susan Voigt (see bio)
svoigt@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Teacher
Danielle Massey
dmassey@sturgischarterschool.org

Assistant to Special Education Coordinator (East, West)
Amy Abercrombie

aabercrombie@sturgischarterschool.org

Department Lead for Special Education and Transition Coordinator
Eric Porteus
eporteus@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Teacher
Bridget Gavin
bgavin@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Teacher Intern
Aimee Daigneault
adaigneault@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Teacher Intern
Kayley Mead
kmead@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Zainab Al-Tayyar
zaltayyar@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Jennifer Batol
jbatol@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Chelsea Emerson
cemerson@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Frankie Hearne
fhearne@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Jasmine MacDonald
jmacdonald@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Layth Mohammed
lmohammed@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Kieran Nutbrown
knutbrown@sturgischarterschool.org

Support, Reading Specialist
Margo McIntyre
mmcintyre@sturgischarterschool.org

School Adjustment Counselor
Katie McIntosh
kmcintosh@sturgischarterschool.org

School Adjustment Counselor
Mary Pawlusiak
mpawlusiak@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Coordinator, East and West
Susan Voigt (bio)
svoigt@sturgischarterschool.org

Department Lead for Special Education and Transition Coordinator
Lee Moynihan
lmoynihan@sturgischarterschool.org

Assistant to Special Education Coordinator, East and West
Amy Abercrombie
aabercrombie@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Teacher
Ariana Burchfield
aburchfield@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Teacher
Kaitlin Doherty
kdoherty@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Teacher
Theresa Pacheco
tpacheco@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Mary Bellamy
mbellamy@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Michelle Harmon
mharmon@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Tyler Hempel
thempel@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Michelle Holmes
mholmes@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Taylor Rooney
trooney@sturgischarterschool.org

Special Education Teacher Intern
Stacey Reese
sreese@sturgischarterschool.org

Support
Nikki Santangelo
nSantangelo@sturgischarterschool.org

School Adjustment Counselor
Heidi Wilson
hwilson@sturgischarterschool.org

Have A Quick Question?

Fill out the adjacent form, and a member of the Sturgis staff will reach out as soon as possible to help answer it. You can also give us a call at the numbers located below during normal school hours.

Sturgis East Main Office: (508) 778-1782
Sturgis West Main Office: (508) 771-2780